



NUMBER OF MEPS TO ELECT IN 2024 15,720

VOTING ANALYSIS ON LGBTIQ+ TEXTS 2019-2024



COUNTRY RANKING

6/27

SHOWS HOW THE MEMBERS OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT (MEPS) FROM YOUR COUNTRY VOTED ON KEY LGBTIQ+ TEXTS OVER THE LAST 5 YEARS. A HIGH VOTING INDICATOR DEMONSTRATES A STRONG SUPPORT. THE INDICATORS VARIES FROM -0.5 FOR POLAND TO 8.3 FOR IRELAND.

COMPARES YOUR COUNTRY WITH THE OTHER 26 EU MEMBER STATES BASED ON THE VOTING INDICATOR AND THE DISTRIBUTION OF MEPS IN THE VOTING CATEGORIES AS DESCRIBED IN THE FOLLOWING TABLES.

PARTY VOTES ON KEY LGBTIQ+ TEXTS 2019-2024

In this table, the Members of European Parliament (MEPs) for each political party in your country are distributed in five voting categories depending on how they voted on nine key texts regarding the fundamental rights of LGBTIQ+ people. MEPs vote either 'for' or 'against' or they abstain (see next page). The most supportive MEPs who always voted 'for' all the texts are in category 1 while the least supportive MEPs who always voted 'against' all the texts are in category 5. Depending on the number of MEPs in each category, the national political parties are labelled as supportive of (green), unclear about their support to (yellow) or opposed to (red) the fundamental rights of LGBTIQ+ people.

National party under EU political group	1. Only For	2. For or Abstained	3. Mixed voting	4. Abstained or Against	5. Only Against		
Left GUE/NGL							
Enhedslisten	1						
Socialists & Democrats - S&D							
Social demokratiet	3						
Greens / EFA							
Socialistisk Folkeparti	2						
Renew Europe Group							
Det Radikale Venstre	1						
Moderaterne	1						
Venstre, Danmarks Liberale Parti	5						
Independent	1						
European People's Party - EPP							
Det Konservative Folkeparti		1					
Identity and Democracy Group							
Dansk Folkeparti		1		1			
Total	14	2		1			

TO QUEER YOUR EU, VOTE FOR MEP CANDIDATES FROM THE POLITICAL PARTIES HIGHLIGHTED IN GREEN.









INDIVIDUAL MEPS VOTES ON KEY LGBTIQ+ TEXTS

The following table shows the individual votes of the Members of European Parliament (MEPs) from your country on the nine key texts regarding the fundamental rights of LGBTIQ+ people adopted by the European Parliament between 2019 and 2024. For each vote, the MEP can vote 'for' the text, 'against' it or they can abstain. If the MEP is absent for the vote, this is registered as a 'no vote'. Based on their votes, each MEP is placed in one of the five voting categories mentioned in the previous table. More information about the nine resolutions adopted can be found in the full report of Forbidden Colours for the European elections 2024.

Text submitted to the vote	Date of the vote
1. Resolution on LGBTI people in Uganda	24 October 2019
2. Resolution on hate speech against LGBTI people	18 December 2019
3. Resolution on the EU as an LGBTIQ Freedom Zone	11 March 2021
4. Resolution on the rights of LGBTIQ citizens in Hungary	08 July 2021
5. Resolution on LGBTIQ rights in the EU	14 September 2021
6. Resolution on growing hate crimes against LGBTIQ+ people	20 October 2022
7. Resolution on the universal decriminalisation of homosexuality	18 April 2023
8. Legislative resolution on matters of parenthood	14 December 2023
9. Resolution on the implementation of the EU LGBTIO Strategy	08 February 2024



National Party under EU political group	First Name	Last Name	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	Category
Left GUE/NGL	•	•				•	•					
Enhedslisten	Nikolaj	VILLUMSEN										1
Socialists & Democrats - S&D												
Socialdemokratiet	Niels	FUGLSANG										1
	Christel	SCHALDEMOSE										1
	Marianne	VIND										1
Greens / EFA	·											
Socialistisk Folkeparti	Margrete	AUKEN										1
	Kira Marie	PETER-HANSEN										1
Renew Europe Group	·											
Det Radikale Venstre	Morten	PETERSEN										1
Moderaterne	Bergur Løkke	RASMUSSEN										1
Venstre, Danmarks Liberale Parti	Asger	CHRISTENSEN										1
	Søren	GADE										1
	Morten	LØKKEGAARD										1
	Erik	POULSEN										1
	Linea	SØGAARD-LIDELL										1
Independent	Karen	MELCHIOR										1
European People's Party - EPP												
Det Konservative Folkeparti	Pernille	WEISS										2
Identity and Democracy Group												
Dansk Folkeparti	Peter	KOFOD										2
	Anders	VISTISEN										4



