

NUMBER OF MEPS 53/720

VOTING ANALYSIS ON LGBTIQ+ TEXTS 2019-2024



SHOWS HOW THE MEMBERS OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT (MEPS) FROM YOUR COUNTRY VOTED ON KEY LGBTIQ+ TEXTS OVER THE LAST 5 YEARS. A HIGH VOTING INDICATOR DEMONSTRATES A STRONG SUPPORT. THE INDICATORS VARIES FROM -0,5 FOR POLAND TO 8,3 FOR IRELAND.

COUNTRY 27/27

COMPARES YOUR COUNTRY WITH THE OTHER 26 EU MEMBER STATES BASED ON THE VOTING INDICATOR AND THE DISTRIBUTION OF MEPS IN THE VOTING CATEGORIES AS DESCRIBED IN THE FOIL OWING TARLES

PARTY VOTES ON KEY LGBTIQ+ TEXTS 2019-2024

In this table, the Members of European Parliament (MEPs) for each political party in your country are distributed in five voting categories depending on how they voted on nine key texts regarding the fundamental rights of LGBTIQ+ people. MEPs vote either 'for' or 'against' or they abstain (see next page). The most supportive MEPs who always voted 'for' all the texts are in category 1 while the least supportive MEPs who always voted 'against' all the texts are in category 5. Depending on the number of MEPs in each category, the national political parties are labelled as supportive of (green), unclear about their support to (yellow) or opposed to (red) the fundamental rights of LGBTIQ+ people.

National party under EU political group	1. Only For	2. For or Abstained	3. Mixed voting	4. Abstained or Against	5. Only Against
Socialists & Democrats - S&D					
Nowa Lewica	5				
Sojusz Lewicy Demokratycznej - Unia Pracy	1				
Independent	1				
Greens / EFA					
Independent	1				
Renew Europe Group					
Polska 2050	1				
European People's Party - EPP					
Platforma Obywatelska	4	9			
Polskie Stronnictwo Ludowe		3			
Independent	3				
Conservatives & Reformists - ECR					
Partia Republikańska				1	
Prawo i Sprawiedliwość				20	5
Solidarna Polska Zbigniewa Ziobro				2	
Total	16	12		23	5

TO QUEER YOUR EU, VOTE FOR MEP CANDIDATES FROM THE POLITICAL PARTIES HIGHLIGHTED IN GREEN.









INDIVIDUAL MEPS VOTES ON KEY LGBTIQ+ TEXTS

The following table shows the individual votes of the Members of European Parliament (MEPs) from your country on the nine key texts regarding the fundamental rights of LGBTIQ+ people adopted by the European Parliament between 2019 and 2024. For each vote, the MEP can vote 'for' the text, 'against' it or they can abstain. If the MEP is absent for the vote, this is registered as a 'no vote'. Based on their votes, each MEP is placed in one of the five voting categories mentioned in the previous table. More information about the nine resolutions adopted can be found in the full report of Forbidden Colours for the European elections 2024.

Text submitted to the vote	Date of the vote
1. Resolution on LGBTI people in Uganda	24 October 2019
2. Resolution on hate speech against LGBTI people	18 December 2019
3. Resolution on the EU as an LGBTIQ Freedom Zone	11 March 2021
4. Resolution on the rights of LGBTIQ citizens in Hungary	08 July 2021
5. Resolution on LGBTIQ rights in the EU	14 September 2021
6. Resolution on growing hate crimes against LGBTIQ+ people	20 October 2022
7. Resolution on the universal decriminalisation of homosexuality	18 April 2023
8. Legislative resolution on matters of parenthood	14 December 2023
9. Resolution on the implementation of the EU LGBTIQ Strategy	08 February 2024

Vote coding								
	For							
	Abstained							
	Against							
	No vote - Absent							
	Not in function							

National Party under EU political group	First Name	Last Name	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	Category
Socialists & Democrats - S&D												
	Marek Paweł	BALT										1
	Marek	BELKA										1
Nowa Lewica	Robert	BIEDROŃ										1
	Łukasz	конит										1
	Bogusław	LIBERADZKI										1
Sojusz Lewicy Demokratycznej - Unia Pracy	Włodzimierz	CIMOSZEWICZ										1
Independent	Leszek	MILLER										1
Greens / EFA												
Independent	Sylwia	SPUREK										1
Renew Europe Group	•											
Polska 2050	Róża	THUN UND H.										1
European People's Party - EPP	1											
	Bartosz	ARŁUKOWICZ										1
	Krzysztof	BREJZA										1
	Jerzy	BUZEK										2
	Jarosław	DUDA										2
	Tomasz	FRANKOWSKI										2
	Andrzej	HALICKI										2
Platforma Obywatelska	Danuta Maria	HÜBNER										1
-	Ewa	KOPACZ										2
	Janusz	LEWANDOWSKI										2
	Elżbieta Katarzyna	ŁUKACIJEWSKA										2
	Jan	OLBRYCHT										2
	Witold	PAHL										1
	Radosław	SIKORSKI										2
Polskie Stronnictwo Ludowe	Krzysztof	HETMAN										2
	Adam	JARUBAS										2
	Jarosław	KALINOWSKI										2
	Magdalena	ADAMOWICZ										1
Independent	Włodzimierz Witold	KARPIŃSKI										1
	Janina	OCHOJSKA										1







INDIVIDUAL MEPS VOTES ON KEY LGBTIQ+ TEXTS

Text submitted to the vote	Date of the vote
1. Resolution on LGBTI people in Uganda	24 October 2019
2. Resolution on hate speech against LGBTI people	18 December 2019
3. Resolution on the EU as an LGBTIQ Freedom Zone	11 March 2021
4. Resolution on the rights of LGBTIQ citizens in Hungary	08 July 2021
5. Resolution on LGBTIQ rights in the EU	14 September 2021
6. Resolution on growing hate crimes against LGBTIQ+ people	20 October 2022
7. Resolution on the universal decriminalisation of homosexuality	18 April 2023
8. Legislative resolution on matters of parenthood	14 December 2023
9. Resolution on the implementation of the EU LGBTIQ Strategy	08 February 2024



National Party <i>under EU political group</i>	First Name	Last Name	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	Catego
Conservatives & Reformists - ECR	'	•										
Partia Republikańska	Adam	BIELAN										4
	Joachim Stanisław	BRUDZIŃSKI										4
	Ryszard	CZARNECKI										4
	Anna	FOTYGA										4
	Krzysztof	JURGIEL										4
	Karol	KARSKI										4
	Izabela-Helena	KLOC										4
	Joanna	KOPCIŃSKA										4
	Zdzisław	KRASNODĘBSKI										4
	Elżbieta	KRUK										4
	Zbigniew	KUZMIUK										4
	Ryszard Antoni	LEGUTKO										4
	Beata	MAZUREK										4
Prawo i Sprawiedliwość	Andżelika Anna	MOŻDŻANOWSKA										4
	Tomasz Piotr	PORĘBA										5
	Elżbieta	RAFALSKA										4
	Rafał	ROMANOWSKI										5
	Bogdan	RZOŃCA										4
	Jacek	SARYUSZ-WOLSKI										5
	Beata	SZYDŁO										4
	Dominik	TARCZYŃSKI										5
	Grzegorz	TOBISZOWSKI										5
	Witold Jan	WASZCZYKOWSKI										4
	Jadwiga	WIŚNIEWSKA										4
	Anna	ZALEWSKA										4
	Kosma	ZŁOTOWSKI										4
Solidorna Boloka Zhigniowa Ziohra	Patryk	JAKI										4
Solidarna Polska Zbigniewa Ziobro	Beata	KEMPA										4

